A Nearly Perfect Morning

I was at first attracted to this poem by Jessica Greenbaum, due to its imagery of nature. Being outdoors is very relaxing, an activity which I regretfully do not make enough time for. While having an easy flow, I struggled comprehending the poem due to vocabulary. I had no idea what “ameliorate” meant, but a quick search in a dictionary solved that problem and others.

While I am unsure, I believe “A Nearly Perfect Morning” to be an ode to mornings, which would explain the title. The poem sends wave upon wave of light imagery hinting at the positivity of morning. With the rebirth of day, the speaker is able to reflect upon the past with a new-found energy.

Leave a Reply

